You know what really sucks, when you get to work and just as you clock in the power goes out. Seriously, yesterday while I was at work the power went out. We had to used little votive candles, that happened to be lying around in a box, to light up parts of the store. There was also a lot of frantic cellphone calls to customers explaining that no we can't deliver their order after all, or no they can't come pick up their pizzas in fifteen minutes. People were just having a hard time grasping the concept of no power=no oven to cook pizzas.
The most common response received was "But the shopping mall across the street has power so why can we get our pizza?" No matter how many times we explained that we are separate from that mall, it just wasn't sinking in. People were actually showing up, after we called them and getting mad that their order hadn't been made.
What sucks about this is that we wouldn't have had to deal with this if we would have been allowed to close. Originally we were supposed to be allowed to close after on hour because after that time our veggies will start to spoil. Fifteen minutes before that time was up we were told to put the veggies into buckets and into our big freezer so that they would stay fresh if we got power back on later. So while the rest of the little Audubon Court was going home cuz they didn't have power, we at Pizza Hut were stuck sitting outside, playing cards to pass the time. I have now learned that there are only so many card games one can play with two people without getting seriously bored. It got to the point were Ellen and I were just laying on chairs looking at the ceiling to pass time.
Finally after about two hours of being bored off our asses we were told the we would get to close..........at 8:30 and only if the power wasn't back on by then.........which it wasn't. So since it never returned, we were given the "fun" task of loading all of our cars full of cases of frozen pizza dough and toppings and schlepping them over to the Glendale store.......who coincidentally didn't even know that we were coming. Yeah that was a lot of fun.
As of 10:30 this morning work still didn't have power. I'm assuming it came back cuz no one has called and said otherwise. You would think they would call and tell the person who has to help open the place tomorrow if there still was no power, right?
No comments:
Post a Comment